I spent 45 minutes with my family every day for 21 days

families2

Despite the popular notion that ”humans are social beings; they need and seek human interactions”. I could spend my entire day inside my room, browsing over the web for treasure haunt whatever quality of different media types of dramas, animes, movies or YouTube videos and social media. Do not get me wrong I have a job that get me trivial money cash.  Since I graduated from the university, I have been looking for a job but still did not find any. Although I am probably, the least busy one between my nine family members I am also the least to socialize and interact with them. This is why I challenged myself to spend 40 minutes each day with my family members with an aim of interacting and bonding with them.

The process

For twenty first days I have to spend at least 40 minutes socializing with my family to see what they are up to, how was their day, any problems they are facing or funny stories they have through the day. Because every one of my family has different schedules and “business” scales I ended up having different shapes and lengths of interactions with each one, regardless I had to spend time in the living room with a family member/s and interacting with them.

Reflection

Overall, the experience went very well and made me realize how blessed and valuable my family is to me. In addition, it helped me improve various skills including listening, speaking, priotaratizing, body language. The First few days were the most difficult as I felt annoyed and pressured because of the interactions. Thankfully, as the days passed by I started to enjoy the sitting and focused on having quality time rather than finishing the left minutes. I learned more about my family and each member’s personality patterns and characteristics. After one week, my brother said to me that I was not spending enough time with them and I do not share any meals with them, which made me realize how sharing food and having meals with family –or people, in general- have special positon in people minds and hearts. After spending time with my family, I noticed me having better interactions with new people and people other than my family or friends. Doing this challenge make me feel proud and good about myself. Every day I went to bed feeling more balanced and empowered because I did not spend my whole day without taking care of any of my family members.

Leave a comment